Duran Duran Monthly Collector’s Corner: June, 2013

In this new monthly feature, duranduran.com highlights a rare or unusual release from the band.

"All You Need Is Now," digitally released in December 2010 and physically released a few months later, has been put out in more formats, both packaging and track listing-wise, than any other Duran Duran album.

In December 2010, Duran Duran initially released the digital version of "All You Need is Now," containing nine tracks. In March 2011, the standard CD and a digital re-release came out with 14 songs: "All You Need is Now," "Blame the Machines," "Being Followed," "Leave a Light On," "Safe (In the Heat of the Moment)," "Girl Panic!," "A Diamond in the Mind," "The Man Who Stole a Leopard," "Other People's Lives," "Mediterranea," "Too Bad You're So Beautiful," "Runway Runaway," "Return to Now," and "Before the Rain." A few different digital versions, through HMV and Amazon, were available as well. At the same time the UK, Germany and Italy were treated with a limited box set with 16 tracks housed in a flip-top box. Along with the limited box version, a deluxe version was sold in the UK through HMV with 19 tracks on two discs.

Not to be outdone, the USA got a limited box set with 15 tracks and a DVD included. Additionally, Newbury Comics in Boston sold a special release signed by the band and housed in a digi pack. The US also had two more limited editions: one sold through Best Buy, containing 17 tracks and a DVD in a slipcase, and one through FYE, containing a 15 track version, which is different than the first 15 track version, and came in a standard jewel case. Alongside these editions, "All You Need is Now" was released in Hong Kong and Taiwan with the same 16 tracks (in standard jewel case) as the European box set. In September 2011, The Vinyl Factory released the strictly limited (to 500 copies), individually signed and numbered Deluxe Box. This set contained the full album on two LPs, all the previous released bonus tracks and remixes of the songs "All You Need Is Now" and "Girl Panic!" on three 12" records plus one more bonus track: "This Lost Weekend." The box, made of perspex, also contained two 12" books.

Right after the release of the limited box set a standard two LP vinyl set was released in both the UK and US. The difference was the packing: The UK version came in a gate fold sleeve and the US version in a regular LP sleeve.

Interestingly, the Japanese version of "All You Need is Now," didn't come out until June, 2012. This coincided with the release of the live CD and DVD of Duran Duran's "A Diamond in the Mind" on Eagle Rock. In Japan, "All You Need Is Now" is available as a two CD set containing 19 tracks (including "This Lost Weekend"). However, in Japan, the AYNIN album is also available in a 6-disc deluxe box set containing the two CD set, "A Diamond In The Mind" on DVD and Blu-Ray, and a two CD set of "A Diamond In The Mind."

All together, there are at least 14 official commercially available editions of the "All You Need Is Now" album. A lot of choices, and for the completist collector, a lot to lay your hands on!

Created by Peter Brinkhof/Edited by Katy Krassner/Photos courtesy Peter Brinkhof & Derek Supryka