Duran Duran Tweak the Formula on New Track ‘You Kill Me With Silence’

All press / news

Duran Duran has dropped a third track from their forthcoming album release, Paper Gods.

"You Kill Me With Silence" will come as a surprise to loyal Duranies. Strip out Simon Le Bon’s familiar vocals, and there’s little in this sparse hip-hop production which would link the listener to arguably the world's biggest pop-rock group of the first half of the ‘80s. The chorus, reminiscent of 1993’s comeback hit "Ordinary World," is where the action really takes place.

The album Paper Gods, the band’s 14th, is due Sept. 11 on Warner Bros and is the group's first via the music major. It's the second time Duran Duran has served up an unexpected dish this week. The album's title track -- all 7 minutes of it -- hit the Internet on Monday (Aug. 10), while the first official single from it, “Pressure Off" (featuring vocals by Janelle Monae), dropped on June 20.

The new set is the follow-out to 2010’s All You Need Is Now and was produced by Nile Rodgers, Mark Ronson, Mr. Hudson and Josh Blair. It also features guest turns from Kiesza, Lindsay Lohan and former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante. The veteran group is supporting Paper Gods with a trek of the U.S. and Europe which continues Sept. 1 at Ibiza Heart and visits arenas and festivals through December.

For a band that found its early glory amidst Britain’s short-lived New Romantics scene, Duran Duran sure have come a long way. And with “Silence”, it’s clear they’re willing and able to leave the past behind them.

Listen to "You Kill Me With Silence" below.

Courtesy Billboard