Duran Duran Performs at the NFL Tailgate Party at the Superbowl XXXVIII on Sunday, February 1st

All press / news


--New Song, "Sunrise," to be Featured on
"Queer Eye for the Straight Guy" Soundtrack--

New York, NY-- Duran Duran, who wrapped up 2003 with a highly successful Australian tour that included four stadium shows with Robbie Williams, and who have sold more than 100,000 tickets for their UK April arena tour over the holidays, have today announced a new US concert date: the NFL Tailgate Party at the Superbowl XXXVIII in Houston, TX on Sunday, February 1st. This show, which will take place at the Reliant Center, will follow the band's sold out performance at San Antonio's Laurie Auditorium two days earlier - this Friday, January 30th. One song from their Super Bowl pre-game performance will air live on CBS's television broadcast of the event sometime between 2:30 pm and 3:00 pm Central Time.
Both dates in Texas this weekend will give audiences a preview of the band's world tour, scheduled to begin in April, 2004  in the UK. A new studio album is also expected later this year.

Duran Duran celebrated their 25th anniversary and the reunion of the five founding band members in 2003 with a run of tremendously  successful shows in the US, Japan, Australia and New Zealand.  They were also honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards last year from both MTV and Q Magazine.  Later next month they will accept the Outstanding Contribution to Music Award in the UK at February's Brits ceremony.

In other Duran Duran news, a Jason Nevin's remix of "Sunrise," the first new Duran Duran song from the band since they got back together, is featured on the soundtrack to the hit Bravo show, "Queer Eye for the Straight Guy," due February 10th on Capitol Records. The soundtrack is led by the show's theme song, "All Things (Just Keep Getting Better)" by Widelife. Other tracks on the album include: Basement Jaxx's "Good Luck", Junior Senior's "Move Your Feet," Liz Phair's "Extraordinary," a previously unreleased Chemical Brothers remix of the new Kylie Minogue single "Slow," Jamelia's U.K. hit "Superstar," and a track mixing music from Fischerspooner and Billy Squier.