Billboard Review

All press / news

BILLBOARD MAGAZINE, February 14, 2004

What’s That Sound: Queer Eye for the Straight Guy
Release Date: Feb 10

It’s appropriate that the most notable songs on the “Queer Eye for the Straight Guy” album are upbeat, life-affirming and primed for dance floors. After all, “Queer Eye” is not a makeover reality series but a “make better” show. The CD kicks off with the show’s theme song and lead single – the buoyant “All Things (Just Keep Getting Better)” by Wildelife with Simone Denny. Most thrilling, perhaps, is the inclusion of first new song from the original fab five: the reformed Duran Duran. “Sunrise”(remixed by Jason Nevins) is an exhilarating, anthemic wonder, full of positive vibes and uplifting lyrics. The album also includes choice cuts from Junior Senior (“Move Your Feet”), Basement Jaxx (“Good Luck” featuring Lisa Kekaula), Jamelia (“Superstar”) and the zippy Chemical Brothers rerub of Kylie Minogue’s “Slow.”